Welcome to my travel journal!

As we make our final arrangements for our upcoming trade mission to India and Korea, I hope you’ll follow along and visit this travel journal frequently as we promote our products and industries overseas to create jobs here at home.

 As the first Washington state governor to travel to India, this trade mission presents invaluable opportunities. We know that more and more consumers in India are wanting to buy products from the United States. By meeting with business leaders there, we put Washington state made- and grown- products at the front of the competition. I also look forward to traveling to South Korea where we’ll continue to build relationships – and promote Washington state agricultural products! While there – I’ll visit both a Popeye’s restaurant and a Costco to encourage people to try Washington grown french-fries. The success from these promotional stops always amaze me!

 I am pleased more than 50 leaders from Washington state – representing agriculture, aerospace, life sciences, education, technology and culture– are joining me on this 10-day trip. As with every trade mission, these delegates become some of our state’s best salesmen and women. Their tireless work never fails to grow our existing businesses, while attracting new ones to our state.

 As you’ll hear from those I’m traveling with, there is no alternative to face-to-face introductions to help launch new business partnerships and form connections.

 We know our trade missions pay off. During my trade mission to the Farnborough Air Show earlier this year more than 300 new jobs were announced, partnerships were formed and substantial new contracts were gained by Washington companies. My last trade mission to Asia in 2010 resulted in more than $10 million in immediate new sales, with a spike in new business expected down the road.

 Follow along with us as we showcase Washington abroad. I’ve asked participants to join me in updating this travel journal – and we’ll share pictures along the way.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.